Friday, March 26, 2010

The T20 World Cup Squad

Today morning, I had made predictions for the composition of the Indian team for the T20 World Cup. Well, the composition of the squad is the same as I had predicted, though there were a couple of changes in the personnel concerned. The national selectors picked Piyush Chawla over Amit Mishra (a real surprise) and decided to continue with the unfulfilled promise of Rohit Sharma over the unexplored potential of Manish Pandey (I had expected Virat Kohli). So 13 out of 15, not too great, not too bad either.

Team does have a few injured players (Nehra & Gambhir, Dhoni has just recovered from injury). This might cause serious problems in West Indies. Maybe a couple of backups shpould also be sent along with the first XV.
Dhoni, Sehwag, Gambhir, Yuvraj, Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, Karthik, Jadeja, Harbhajan, Chawla, Zaheer, Praveen, Vinay Kumar & Nehra.

Best Tweet on Chawla's selection: "obviously selectors were fed up of playing musical chair game with just two spinners so they added chawla to make it more interesting... "

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Commentary Box