Friday, June 25, 2010

June 25th

June 25th: Marks the most anniversary of the most significant event in Indian cricketing history. It was on this day 27 years ago at Lords that India defended a paltry 183 to pull off a surprising win over the (then) mighty West Indies. I was too young to remember anything about that match. And actually learnt about this great happening only in 1992 at the time of the Benson & Hedges Cup (the 5th World Cup). 
This post is to remember the players who won it for India on that day. Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Srikanth, Mohinder Amarnath, Yashpal Sharma, Kirti Azad, Sandeep Patil, Syed Kirmani, Madan Lal, Roger Binny, Balwinder Sandhu. A couple of all time greats of the game, some good & some just average players in this list but everyone will be remembered for what they achieved on that historic day.

P.S. Hoping for another victory in my lifetime soon

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Commentary Box