Friday, February 26, 2016

Arbit Stats #51

Ranji Trophy 2015-16 Final, Mumbai vs Saurashtra

Mumbai coasted to their 41st title in the 82nd edition of the Trophy. With more than 20 odd teams participating every year (current count 27 which will go up to 28 next year), that is some dominance.

This was Mumbai's 45th final appearance. However for the first time ever, they did not have any Test players in their playing XI in the Ranji final. Very surprising given the team's pedigree.

With the likes of Rahane and Rohit Sharma on India duty and Wasim Jaffer having switched to Vidarbha, the only internationals were Dhawal Kulkarni and Abhishek Nayar. Given his form, Shreyas Iyer would soon join this list.

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Commentary Box